Skip to main content

When extra isn't really extra

Today, I walked into a local sportswear store to check for a sale on winter coats for my little one.  As I looked at sale jackets in the children's the clerk asked me if I was interested in anything for me.  
"Sure, do you have any shorts in an XL?"
"Yes, a couple pairs." She handed me two pairs.  The first pair was a size 10 and the second was a 12.  I looked slightly confused and then she apologized.  She didn't apologize for bringing me the wrong size, she apologized because they didn't carry anything 'big' enough for me. 
Right, because I'm plus sized (I wear a size 16) and you won't find many brand name of athletic clothes in anything bigger than a size 14.  But this was crazy, a size 10 is not an extra large, in my memory that was medium.  I've always been a bigger girl, but still athletic.  I run, not fast but I still run.  I run at least 1 1/2 marathon every year and average about 10-15 miles per week.  I lift weights, I ride my bike, I hike and swim but I like to eat and I eat when I'm stressed.  I stress a lot.  
I stress about work, my kids, my friends, my marriage, pretty much about everything and then I eat crap.  So I struggle with my weight and how I feel about it.  There was a time I was more confident but I was never excited about how I looked.  More often I compared myself to the thin girl handing me shorts that she thought were huge.....extra large... and thought, I should look like her, she's what I need to look like.  
But why?  Would I really be happier if I was thinner?  Probably not, I'd pick that apart, too.  I'd want something else.  So what is it then?
I think it's that society "these people" think there's too much of me, in fact I'm extra, extra big.  That's twice as much as they need and that makes me sad, I want to be just the right amount.  I want to be desirable and someone at Patagonia says I'm not, I'm too big.  I'm too be for North Face, I'm too big to be athletic.  But the real fact of the matter is, I'm not.  
I'm not too big for anything.  I'm me and I'm just enough.  So I'll shop somewhere else and I'm spend time with people who don't think I'm too much.  And in the end, the only extra I want is love.  

Comments

  1. <3 Have you read this? https://www.outsideonline.com/2156246/dont-tell-me-what-strong-looks

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Disney in the Rain

So you wake up and look out your resort window and it is a torrential downpour.  You have two options, curl back up in bed and wait out the storm or throw together your park bag with a couple extras and head out.  We always chose a park day.  Rain days are less crowded because many locals don't drive in and there are plenty of people who chose the wait it out option.  If you are going to do a rain day here are a couple advantages and a couple pieces of advice.  Do note that some rides, shops and shows will not run if it is raining hard or there is lightning in the area, but this isn't the majority.  On our last trip during Spring Break it poured in the morning and early afternoon on our Animal Kingdom day.  Let's start with what to wear and pack to make sure this doesn't go sideways: 1.  You'll need a rain coat or poncho.  I bring a rain coat for rainy days and save my $.99 poncho for the water rides.  My mom brings an u...

I Didn't Die on the Mountain

I didn't die on the mountain, although at the starting line I was having visions of my body being found by skiers this winter .       http://runtherut.com/ The back of the expo.     The expo before the 11k start             First turn The 11k starting line Wave 3!!     I toed the starting line of the 11k race in The Rut Mountain Runs on Sunday, September 2.  I knew it would be the most technical trail run I had ever done and the highest but I had trained, or so I thought. The Rut Mountain Runs are part of the Skyrunner USA series.  They take place at Big Sky Ski Resort just outside of Bozeman, Montana.  There are several race options including the Vk, 11k, 28k and 50k.  If you are one of those crazy ultra runner types you can combine the races as the Vk is on Friday, the 28k is on Saturday and the 11k and 50k are on Sunday.  All ...

Strollers and Wheelchairs in Disney

I had a friend tell me once that her son (4) didn't do strollers.  They were about to do a 3-day trip to Disneyland and this was her first trip as a parent.  I recommended she still get a stroller and here's why.  Maybe your kid doesn't use a stroller when you are doing normally daily stuff but does your kid log 10 or more miles a day normally?  Does your kiddo need a mid-day nap?  Imagine a trip to the park, what do you carry with you?  Do you want to carry that all day long?  So my friend did ended up renting a stroller and they used it.  There were times when their kid wasn't super happy about it but he was over tired and they just didn't want to carry him, so he rode.  He took one stroller nap and otherwise the stroller carried my friend's backpack/diaper bag most of the time so she didn't have to and that was ok, too.  Sydnee (5) in our garage sale stroller On the other hand, my kiddo LOVES riding in a stroller.  We h...